Cardboard Overload

Use Protection…

with 2 comments

As I’m starting to get back into The Hobby, I find myself wondering how I want to protect my cards from damage.  There are endless options:  three ring binders with the 9 cards a page protective sheets, top loaders, monster boxes, the hinged-thingamjigs, penny sleeves, shoeboxes, I could go on and on.  Right now I’ve got a bunch in top loaders and a bunch in binders, but I want to make sure I’m doing this the safest way possible.

I’m trying to sort my vast collection that I’ve amassed over the years (including all of my new goodies from my three-month binge since I’ve been sucked back into collecting) so I need to come up with the best strategy to protect my collection, and also to catalog it.  Is there a certain dollar value  that any of you require to put a card in a top loader vs. a penny sleeve?  What about complete sets…do you store those in large boxes with other cards or do you get a box for just that set?

Lastly, how do you catalog your cards (or do you?)?  Is there software that you use to track what you own, do you do it yourself in a spreadsheet?  Any helpful tips from my collecting colleagues would be greatly appreciated!

Written by cardboardoverload

June 18, 2009 at 10:05 pm

Posted in The Hobby

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cataloging…

    For collated sets, I put them in binders. For collections of my favorite players, I also use albums. The rest are in 5,000 ct. boxes sorted by team.

    As far as top loaders, I reserve them for autographs and relics, along with “valuable” rookies. Hall of Famers, particularly shiny inserts, and my favorites go in penny sleeves before the 5,000 ct. boxes.

    As for cataloguing electronically, I started to use Beckett’s site, but it’s extremely tedious. For now, I’m passing on logging my cards on the computer.

    jswaykos

    June 21, 2009 at 10:56 pm

  2. I am new to collecting (about a year) and faced the same question. I only collect baseball cards. I penny sleeve all my cards, put anything that books at over $1 in top loaders, then everything is sorted alphabetically in shoe boxes (my husband is a runner so there’s no shortage of boxes). I don’t collect sets, so this works for me for now. I use Excel to track my cards.

    Sheila

    July 21, 2009 at 1:17 pm


Leave a Reply

