Cardboard Overload

GlobalSportsCards.com Sponsoring My Quest to Repeat as Ginter Code Champ!

with 2 comments

Ginter madness is just over a week away, can you feel it yet?  When I last spoke with the Allen & Ginter brand manager at Topps, the release was scheduled for June 30th…here’s to hoping for no additional delays.  Anyways, I have some great news!  In my quest for trying to repeat as back-to-back Ginter Code champion, GlobalSportsCards.com has decided to sponsor me!

After cracking the code last year I’m determined to do it again, and I’m starting off with purchasing a case of 2010 Ginter.  I’ve never bought more than 2 boxes of a single product before (last year’s Ginter, coincidentally), so busting a whole case is pretty exciting.  Needless to say, I may need some help with the code along the way, so if anyone is willing to pitch in, let me know!

Another reason for purchasing an entire case is because I will have my own card in the set!  That’s right, card #165 belongs to yours truly, and I can’t wait to bust open a pack and see my mugshot starting right back at me.  What a feeling that will be!  I believe there are 12 variations (base, mini base, A&G back mini, black border mini, Bazooka back mini, no number mini, silk mini, wood mini, and four printing plates), and I’m going to do my best to collect them all.  I would love your help with this!  After busting a case I should have plenty of trade bait!

Last but not least, I’ve had a pretty big response already from people asking if I’m willing to sign my card TTM.  Short answer: YES!!  I won’t be charging money either, just some help either working on my want lists (will be updated soon) or help tracking down the variations of my card!  Details on the TTM auto will be posted soon.  A couple people have asked me about doing a special set of red or gold auto’s that would be limited in number.  I’m not opposed to it but I’m only going to do it if there is an interest in that kind of thing.

Finally, I can’t forget about my sponsor, of who you will learn more of over the coming weeks.  If you’ve never heard of Global Sports Cards, they are the group who sold the case that the $16,000 Strasburg super-refractor came out of.  Also, their owner tells me that they will beat ANY legitimate price online for boxes or cases.  I don’t know about you, but that sounds too good to pass up, even if they weren’t sponsoring my chase!  Everyone be sure to check them out!

Written by cardboardoverload

June 21, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Posted in 2010 Ginter Code

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice thread, thanks . i like ur weblog.

    blogger-newbie

    June 22, 2010 at 7:02 am

  2. A case! Wowsers.

    A friend and I are doing what amounts to a bunch of boxes, but not quite a case. I would be willing to share scans of code cards with you if you are up for that. I have a feeling we’re going to need to have all of them, both sides, this year. Just a hunch. I’m sure you feel it too.

    Sharpe

    June 23, 2010 at 9:40 am


Leave a Reply

