Cardboard Overload

What are these cards????

with 3 comments

I picked these up at a local card show today because I’ve never seen them before, and I’m sure there are plenty of Canseco/Griffey/Sandberg supercollectors out there that don’t have them.  They are some kind of metal, have nothing on the back, and don’t appear to be numbered.  Any clue???!!!  They look to me like early 90s based on the picture…sorry for the poor photos, they came from my camera phone!

Written by cardboardoverload

September 18, 2010 at 1:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would love to trade for that Jose
    Canseco…. Please let me know if its up for trade…Wicked4life20@hotmail.com

    wickedortega

    September 18, 2010 at 3:21 pm

  2. Wow. Cool find. I’ve been to quite a few local shows around Chicago in the late 1990s – 2000s where you would perhaps come across at least the Sandberg card, but I’ve not seen these before. I’ve also been to local shows in other big cities like Boston and LA, but I don’t even recognize the design. The photos would but these cards no later than 1993 since 1992 was Canseco’s last season with Oakland. The curious wrinkle is that they appear to be some sort of chrome technology or some variation thereof. By my recollection, Topps Finest was the first to introduce that card printing technology in 1993. I hope someone can answer this question, because I too am baffled.

    The Card Investor

    September 18, 2010 at 4:57 pm

  3. Wicked – all of the cards are up for trade, I just want to get an idea of value first.

    Card Investor – I’m not sure these were meant to be chrome technology…these cards are actual metal…the closest thing that comes to mind right now are razor blades (although not that sharp of course). The face of the cards have very tiny grooves like a record…I’m perplexed!

    cardboardoverload

    September 18, 2010 at 5:18 pm


Leave a Reply

