Cardboard Overload

Picked Up Two Of My Error Cards This Week…Wait, What??

with 2 comments

As many of you probably know, I was awarded a card in this year’s Allen & Ginter set (card #165 to be exact!).  My goal has been to collect each of the 12 versions of the card and I’ve done pretty well so far.  I bought an entire case of Ginter this year and was lucky enough to pull 8 of my cards…7 base cards and 1 A&G back mini.  I was able to pick up a black border mini off ebay pretty quickly, and I’ve got a regular mini in the mail on the way to me.  Today I won an auction for the only no-number mini I’ve seen, for only a couple bucks (funny thing is, I offered the seller $10 just to end it early and get it out to me…he declined the offer).  I’ve been negotiating with a guy on one of the printing plates, but haven’t heard a thing about the other three, or the wood card (if you hear of anyone having these PLEASE let me know…I can make it well worth it!).

That just leaves the silk cards…I’m guessing if you’re reading this you know about the silk cards in A&G, but if not, each mini card in the set was also created on silk rather than cardboard, and there are only 10 copies of each silk card that were made.  I stumbled upon an ebay auction a couple weeks ago that has Brett Gardner’s silk card, only it had my name on it.  I had no clue if it was just an error on his card that ended up with my name on there, or if it was an error to my card where his picture ended up there.  After seeing another *correct* Gardner silk show up on ebay, I’m convinced there will be no correct silk of mine…oh well, at least I have my name on it and can say that I officially have an error card…

After speaking with Jason Wong, the 2008 champ, he told me he had only seen 2 of his 10 silk cards before (he was only able to get his hands on one).  Luckily, I’ve got two already and hopefully another on the way.

Oh yeah, Jason was kind enough to send me one of his signed cards (see above)…he’s a class act.

Speaking of signed cards, my first batch goes out tomorrow to everyone who sent me cards (still feels weird to sit down and spend time autographing things…don’t know if I’ll ever get used to that).  I was finally able to get a PO box, so for those of you wanting TTM autos of my card, please send it with a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

Nick Jacoby
PO Box 43196
Louisville, KY  40253

If you could, please send any versions of my card that are extras that I can keep (especially the minis).  I have a ton of friends and family asking for them!

Written by cardboardoverload

July 11, 2010 at 7:44 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s weird about the silk card. Have you seen any Gardner cards on ebay that have his name on them? Or perhaps with your photo on them. That’s a shame, but you can say you have an error card to go with your regular issue card.

    jeremy scott

    July 12, 2010 at 2:19 am

  2. My 11 year old just pulled one of your silk cards (9/10)from a box.. It took us a while to figure out why the picture didnt match the name…

    Emilee

    August 14, 2010 at 1:23 am


Leave a comment